David Stick first came to the Outer Banks with his parents in 1929. His father was the renowned outdoor illustrator Frank Stick. His mother, Maud, was often a model for Frank and other artists. David's natural curiosity about North Carolina's untamed coast led him to explore the region, its history and peoples, fostering a lifelong passion for research and writing. He is the author of several books including Graveyard of the Atlantic: Shipwrecks of the North Carolina Coast, The Outer Banks of North Carolina: 1584-1958 and Roanoke Island: the Beginnings of English America.
Throughout a long career as writer, historian, and community activist, Stick had amassed a very large collection of primary and secondary research materials, with emphasis on the North Carolina coast. In July 1986, Stick donated this personal library, an extensive private collection of North Caroliniana, to the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources and it became the core around which the Outer Banks History Center was built. Throughout the years, the History Center has continued to add print, non-print and non-textual items to its initial collection.
This blog is © History Chasers
Click here to view all recent Lost Colony Research Group Blog posts